Mallory magneto getting hot

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by alkynova, Jul 1, 2010.

1. alkynova

alkynova New Member

Im new to blown alcohol motors and mags. i just wanna make sure if its common for a magneto/ mallory mag to get hot to the touch. I can only put my hand on it for a few seconds before it burns me. rough guess of 150-170 degrees give or take

2. Don Onimus

Don Onimus New Member

mag

I rally can't give you what you are looking for, but anything that gets hot like that is not normal. I think most of the guy's that run the Mallorys use Spud Miller. I am sure someone can get a number for you. Also Dave Kohler is good. Don

3. SoDak

SoDak Active Member

I have never noticed our SM IV's getting hot, but can't say that I've paid attention, especially after we went to setting the timing with a buzz box.

Are you drag racing or are you trying to run it on the street?

I would call whoever you have rebuild them and ask.

4. Comax Racing

Comax Racing Member

Mallory Mag

x2 on Spud. Fuel injection Enterprises. Give him a call and he will tell you if something is wrong or not. 541-990-2485
    Fuelinjectionenterprises.com

Corey

5. craig moss

craig moss Member

X3 on Spud Miller honest fella Great work He's good at fuel too

6. SoDak

SoDak Active Member

I put my hands on one of our SM IV's this weekend after a 12 second pull, it was not even warm.

7. secondwindracing

secondwindracing top alcohol

should never get hot...dave

8. Herb Moore

Herb Moore New Member

a mag should not gain any heat, if it is...something is wrong inside the generator

9. Dave Tuttle

Dave Tuttle New Member

I've Had This Happen Before...........

I was helping a customer with a Nostalgia Top Fueler at Fallon,NV. about 10 years ago who had a similar problem with the old Mallory Super Mag-10 in a Donovan.