Steel or Aluminum Rods?

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by unholy1, Sep 22, 2008.

1. unholy1

unholy1 New Member

Newbie here. I'm building my first blown alcohol engine. It's going into a full tube '68 Biscayne. I currently have a 12-71 Littlefield with an Enderle Bird and am in the process of building the shortblock. I'm shooting for 1100-1500 hp in a 468 or 496 BBC. Looking at other sites, I've noticed some debate on the necessity of aluminum rods at this power level. Since you guys run this stuff all the time, I'd like a professional opinion on the matter.
    Thanks,
    Rick

2. jim phillips

jim phillips ta/fc

i have ran several bbc with blowers i used brooks alum. rods never one problem

3. WANNABE

WANNABE New Member

As I see it we need to look at 2 things. First of all, 1100 horsepower or 1500? Then the next thing is an rpm range. If the thing is 1100 and your are going to keep things under say- 7500 or so, go with a good steel rod. If you are going to spin big RPM's or pushing (Actually) 1500, then you are looking at steel rods lasting no longer than an aluminum would. And at that point, the aluminum rods give a shock absorber feel to the bearings and bottom end, and you get that advantage. Also, other parts of a standard block deal at a true 1500 number will need to be taken apart and looked at about the same time the rods do, so why not?

4. unholy1

unholy1 New Member

Were gonna make no more than 1500 hp with this combo. I thought that increasing the stroke to 4.25 would bring down the redline to 7500 or under. This isn't an all-out deal - filled, studded and o-ringed Mark IV block, moderate boost, etc. Others have noted the absorbing qualities of aluminum. I am assuming that you would need to check the rod bearings more frequently with steel rods.

Thanks for all the help!

5. secondwindracing

secondwindracing top alcohol