Returns for fuel?

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by dstettner, May 6, 2012.

1. dstettner

dstettner New Member

Is it ok to put returns to inlet of pump?? what are the professionals take on this ? Im new to the blown alky deal and just want to plum everthing right the first time. Either to the tank or inlet of pump??

2. secondwindracing

secondwindracing top alcohol

we go back the the tank, at the pump there would be alot of turbulance and possable cavitation..Dave

3. dstettner

dstettner New Member

Returns

Thanks Dave,to the tank it is then that makes sens, why interupt the fuel going in to the pump. Just have seen it both ways.

4. secondwindracing

secondwindracing top alcohol

not saying it won't work but going to the tank is the best way all your top builders hadman mckinney ect. build there tanks to do all the returns there,we have a 1 1/2 solid alu. feed and a 1 1/2 return on the return there is 5 or 6 an bungs to plumb into..dave

5. jody stroud

jody stroud ZOMBIE Top Dragster

I return my fuel appox a foot before the pump with an in line return log....no problems yet. Approved by Mike at RAGE Fuel Systems. Would a return all the way to the tank be best, yes. Is it necessary, no..

6. rb0804

rb0804 Active Member

If you are going to plumb back into the inlet of the pump give yourself a little distance for it to get straightened out to eliminate any possibility of the problems that Dave mentioned above. You have to be careful because you can create cavitation issues if you return it back to the tank in the wrong spot.

7. badbird

badbird New Member

most seem to return right at the top of the tanks and blower alky cars have large tanks,