Priming/starting help

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by CjRedden, Jul 30, 2012.

1. CjRedden

CjRedden Member

So im pretty new to this whole fuel injection system. 526 cu in chevy, dart block pr1 heads. littlefield 8-71 with a carbon hat. Everything was set up for me when i installed the motor. My problem is getting this thing started. 24 volt block starter with a promag44. the car runs great once it starts. idles about 1800. our problem is most of the time it takes alot of cranking and alot of gas to prime this thing before it fires and stays running. usually fires on the gas then dies right away sometimes 2 or 3 times as my dad is trying to prime it th rough the butterflies. im curious to know exactly how to reset the butterflies from my understanding you need a .010 gap. where do you check this. From what i see, the gas doesnt get sucked into the motor through the bottom of the butterflies as it puddles up and drips down the front of the blower. any suggestions or help?

2. Vhodoo Racing

Vhodoo Racing New Member

I have a 526 Chev with a 14-71... We prime with plastic bottle (mustard bottle work well) and methanol. When we first got this engine going we were having a similar problem which boiled down to just giving it a good drink to get it fired and then running on the bottle until the fuel pump well and truly picks up and takes over, it can take quite a few seconds... We simply were not running it on the bottle long enough for the fuel pump to take over...

Cheers

3. vht

vht Member

What about a priming system that uses a small elec fuel pump?

4. fastfiat

fastfiat New Member

Had a similar problem with our car. Finally drilled out the opening on the prime bottle (3/32)and that fixed it. Takes more fuel than you think but you can flood it if not careful.

5. CjRedden

CjRedden Member