M1 to M5 need the straight goods

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by dandimand, Nov 10, 2008.

1. dandimand

dandimand New Member

We are going to Run our car next weekend in Vegas and have been Running M1 all year but we have a new combination and never really had our tuneup figured out so we have the opportuinity to get some M5 for the same price as M1 what will the differences really be in the tuneup timing etc... we are running a procharged EFI 430" ford Engine with zoomies . Will reading the plugs be any different etc.. . Pls only proper answers no guessing thanks.

2. BrianD

BrianD Member

While I have no experience running M5 in a blown application, we did run it in a midget at the Chili Bowl last year. I thought it seemed to wake the car up a little bit and made it snappier. We didn’t make any changes to our base line jetting when we made the switch, but at the time felt we were on the rich side with the methanol we had been running.

3. Horweenracing

Horweenracing Member

Horween racing WPB Fl. blown alcohol door car.We just swithced over to
    m5 from reg. meth it increased the idle from about 1900-2000 to 2700 rpm
    had to change spring in poppet for idle circuit to way stiffer to get back down to 2000rpm.more fuel at idle seems to contaminate the oil much quicker.
    Not sure on performance gains as we ran eigth all year and ran the m5 in orlando in the quarter.I will say the fumes are horrible but we got a drum and
    will try it again at the end of the month.Good luck post your results please
    thanks,Doug horween nhra2650

4. blwnaway

blwnaway Member

I had the same issues as the others. It is hard to stage unless you have a helment with breathers in it and the crew will complain as well. We switched back, really no problems but we figured we were not using all of our power with M1 so its not worth the extra 150 per barrel and the extra trouble.

5. dandimand

dandimand New Member